Cooking for a Weightlifter

Those who follow this blog know that from time to time, I like to post about a great meal I have cooked and eaten. I do love to cook and I do love to eat! Well, this one post is a little different. Today I came home from the gym about an hour after Donny, and he had dinner almost done. Tri tip, potatoes, asparagus, and a salad. Sounds like a pretty standard dinner, doesn’t it?

It wasn’t standard. It was one of the best meals I have ever eaten in my life. He cooked the tri tip absolutely perfectly. Absolutely perfect. I am not sure what seasoning he used, but whatever it was it was just right. The meat was perfectly cooked, it simply could not have been done better. He said 15 minutes at 425 degrees, then 30 minutes at 300 degrees, if you are interested. It was better than any prime rib I have ever eaten.

The potatoes were like candy. Cream, butter, who knows what else. Whatever was in them, they could have been served as dessert. The asparagus was perfectly cooked, with just the right amount of salt. The salad was three kinds of lettuce, along with some baby spinach leaves, dressed with olive oil, red wine vinager, parmesan cheese, and course grated pepper.

It was a standard meal, meat, potatoes, and vegetables, but it was done to perfection. About 15 minutes after I ate, I just had to come back downstairs and fixed another plate, and made Donny sit by it for a photo. Perfection should be remembered. And so here it is, a simple meal of meat and potatoes and vegetables, that was PERFECT.

4 responses to “Cooking for a Weightlifter

Leave a Reply

