A bit of fun.

Probably not the food picture you expected to see on this blog. Well let me explain. My son has been spent the school year with his mother for the first time this last year, but has spent the summer with me. He flies back to Texas later today. It took him a few weeks to get used to eating the way I cook. In fact he mentioned that he eats more meat and vegetables in a day here than in a week with Mom. But I slowly got him used to eggs in the morning instead of cereal. To dinners based on meat and vegetables instead of breads and pasta. And he grew to like it. But in the last few days he was here, I fixed a few things, treats so to speak, just for fun.

Two days ago I fixed sliders, and used Krispy Kreme doughnuts as buns. At least the meat was grass-fed. It was a lot of fun, first time I had had a doughnut in several years, and I don’t feel a bit bad about it. Today for breakfast on his last day here, I was looking for something special, something different. I ended up rolling bacon, turkey, ham, and cheese up in crescent roles. And it was damned good.

Why did I post this? Well, go back and read all the responses to the original “I’m pissed” blog. It was about wishing people ate more healthy, and wishing our society didn’t promote unhealthy food quite so much. I got a lot of anger from some people, calling me a “Health Nazi”, accusing me of trying to control how people lived, etc. I just want to demonstrate that although I put a lot of energy into eating healthy, I am not above a bit of fun with food now and then, and I don’t think you should be either. Somewhere in the “I’m pissed” series, i mentioned that, In my opinion, if you eat good healthy food 80-90% of the time, there is nothing wrong with indulging yourself every now and then. One little hint, if you do feel like indulging, sliders with Krispy Kreme doughnuts as a bun aren’t really as good as they sound. Crescent roles with bacon, ham, and swiss cheese on the other hand, are.

2 responses to “A bit of fun.

  • Margarita

    Glad you enjoyed your son for the summer. Fun with food is always good. While we no longer eat meat, crescent rolls with eggs, cheese and veggies are a big favorite at our house! All the best! 😉

  • kuroloki

    I remember those comments on your old entry and I thought they were really far-fetched, possibly coming from people who already felt insecure and guilty about their own eating habits. You never said anything about people having to eat healthy all the time otherwise they are terrible and evil, you were talking about how we are taught to eat crappy food and how that pissed you off.

    I follow a loose primal diet, so the only thing “unhealthy” to me in your picture is the pack of crescent rolls! Mmm bacon!

    If you haven’t already seen them or had them recommended to you, I think you’d like the documentaries “Food, Inc.” and “Fathead”. You might like the second one more because it has some humor to it and from what I remember, doesn’t have political undertones.

Leave a Reply

