As I look through some of my old blogs, this one is particularly timeless.

Glenn Pendlay

For many lifters, sticking with the program is a difficult task. Beginners seem to have a particular problem with this, and it’s understandable. Everything is changing fairly fast. One day snatches feel natural; the next the bar goes everywhere except where it’s supposed to go. On Monday you might stand up with your clean easily on every rep. On Wednesday you might be catching a bit forward and struggle to stand up, or even fail to stand up with weights that were easy two days ago. Of course the temptation is to want to work extra hard on the snatch after a sub-par day of snatching, do extra front squatting after you have a day or two when the cleans are hard to stand up with, or to change your training plan or even your whole philosophy after a bad week or two.

But giving in to temptation is almost…

View original post 109 more words

One response to “

  • blessedbybarbells

    I use to change my program ever week when I first started oly lifting. Thought is was program and wouldn’t even give it a chance. Thanks for allowing me to remember my beginner days. This blog is something every beginner should read. It held me back for a long time til I stuck a plan through. Great post as always Glenn.

Leave a Reply

