Changes.

The past year and a half has been a period of some pretty big changes in my life.  As some of you know, I had a stroke in December of 2013.  Afterwards I was in a coma for about 8 weeks, and when I woke I discovered that I had lost a large part of my eyesight.  I guess I am lucky, because my arms and legs still work fine, and my speech wasnt affected.

But certain things about my lifestyle had to change.  After 20+ years as a strength athlete, I had at one point gotten myself up to 360lbs.  Now I think it was a fairly solid 360, but still that is a huge amount of weight. Along the way I did well in sports like Powerlifting and weightlifting, but it was time to stop pushing up the bodyweight in an attempt to gain strength at any cost.

At the time I had the stroke I was about 300lbs.  Today I weigh about 255lbs.  I am not struggling with heavy cleans or snatches anymore, but I am up to about 15 to 20 miles a week of running, along with a lot of work on a C2 rower.

I am also eating a LOT better.  My goals have all changed.  And I do feel a ton better.  I might even enter a 5k run soon!

 

10 responses to “Changes.

  • Darren

    Glenn,
    Sorry to read your health issues, all the best on your quest to better health. I wish you well, and thank you for the assistance your programs and web tuition have given me in my quest to lose 45kg In 2012. It literally changed my life!!
    All the best,
    Darren

  • Margarita

    Congratulations on your (continued) recovery, Glenn! My husband has survived a number of strokes. Since he’s been vegetarian since childhood and there is no history of strokes in his family, his doctors are stumped. Recovery for him is slow and ongoing. It’s good to hear your story! Thank you for sharing. xoM

  • Janecek, John

    Glad your doing better Glenn and good to hear from you.

  • Sandy A.

    good you are doing better! I hope you continue on the path to good health and no more strokes!

  • Paul

    I had no idea about your stroke or coma, but am glad to hear you are doing better. Depending on how the 5K goes, is there a possibility that the first ever “Pendlay 5K” (which could intersperse Olympic lifting throughout the 5K) be in the works? 😀

  • Johannes

    Hey Glenn,
    good to hear that you are much better now. Keep up the good work.
    At this point i want to Thank you for the great info on Weightlifting in the past years, you made me a better Lifter and Trainer.

    Greatings from Bavaria

  • garyecht@aol.com

    Didn’t know anything about your situation. As we get older we start to pay more attention to the numbers we get from physicians than from the gym. In the long run, no one cares (or remembers for that matter) about the gym numbers. Keep living the healthy life style and enjoy life. As others have said on the forum, I look forward to seeing your book.

    Gary Echternacht

  • Troy List

    Glenn, glad to see you’re responding to your challenges by staying active. Movin’ is livin’. Stay strong!

  • colin bell

    I’m sorry to hear about your stroke. Being the modest guy you are I didn’t realise the seriousness of your stroke. As a born again Christian I will be praying you have a full and rapid recovery. You sure have been good to me offering me free advice on the forum over the years. And that is greatly appreciated. Perhaps now you could write that lifting book, make some new dvds etc. And who knows maybe you could make a comeback as a 94 class master ……
    All the best
    Colin bell
    Northern Ireland

  • feargal2015

    I stumbled across one of your older articles and found it to be very useful to a newbie like me, your experience and pragmatism shone through. I’m sorry to hear of your illness, but I expect that abundance of common sense you display will be of great help to you. Keep writing.

Leave a Reply

