Ran my first ever 5k today.

I feel like i completed the conversion from weightlifter to runner today.  I really do not like to run, but in the interest of health I think that at this point in  my life I need to concentrate on something besides being big and strong.  This Journey started in December of 2013 when I had a stroke that left me in a coma for almost 2 months.  I was very lucky and escaped that experience with very few lasting side effects, but I realized that I needed to lose weight and worry more about my blood pressure than my squat numbers.

When I had the stroke I was about 310lbs.  I lost a lot of weight during the coma, but most of it was muscle because that is what happens when you lay in bed for months at a time.  When I first woke up, walking was quite a challenge.  I started equating again right away, and used a C2 rower a ton.  Once I got strong enough to walk easily I started trying to run a little.  At first it was just 10 oe 20 steps but pretty soon I was jogging half a mile, then a mile,then 2 miles.

This morning I ran my first 5k, the labor day 5k in Matthews, NC.  My time was 36.09  Not a great time, but I will admit I had more fun than I thought I would, and this first one will definitely not by my last.

IMG_29721

9 responses to “Ran my first ever 5k today.

Leave a Reply

