A little variety.

I recently went out and got my 22 year old bike brought back into working condition.  My idea is to ride insstead of running a couple of days a week.  I am starting to get a little soreness in my left hip from running close to 4 miles a day, and it worries me.  I am 44 years old, and one of my high school friends who I used to lift weight with just went through a hip replacement.  Now he was a serious runner, who ran far more than I do, and did it for a lot of years, but the fact that people that I know, who are my age, are having problems like that kind of make me want to not continue to do something that might cause problems.20151002_211736

Of course I am still going to run, I am already planning my next 5k, but I might try to replace it with a bike ride 2 days a week to limit the wear and tear on my body.  So far I am only riding my bike to work, which is about 2 miles each way.  And so far, it is killing me!  Definitely harder than I remember from childhood.  I am sure that I will come to enjoy it after a few weeks, but so far riding to work stinks!

One response to “A little variety.

  • Gary Echternacht

    I think it’s great that you have added bike riding to your training program. Perhaps you can work up to riding to work. After I quit weightlifting as a young man, I took up running but was often injured and took up bike riding for when I was injured. Actually wound up racing.

    Let me make a suggestion for your bike riding. Stay away from the big gears and work more on pedaling faster. You’ll improve your fitness more by doing that and reduce injuries to you knees and hips.

    Mostly enjoy the feeling of freedom when riding. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

