A little rowing.

Rower

I have really been concentrating on running lately.  I just ran my first 5k a couple of weeks ago, and I am planning on another one next weekend.  On top of that, I just had my bike tuned up, and have started riding it to work which has been a change of pace and actually made me a little sore for a while.  But we had a weekend seminar at MDUSA this weekend, and it has been raining lately and between getting up about 3o min early for the seminar and the rain,  I did not run or ride this weekend.  I probably needed the rest but this afternoon I was feeling a little lazy so I decided to try and row a good time for a 5k.

My old PR for a 5k row was 21 min 15 sec, and  today I rowed a 5k in 20 minutes 42 seconds.   I stuck pretty close to a 2.o5 pace the whole way, and I definitely think a 20 min flat 5k is doable at this point.  In fact I think if I went back to rowing a 5k once a week for the next 2-3 weeks it wouldn’t be that hard.

I guess I will see this weekend if all this cross training pays off with a new 5k running PR…

 


Leave a Reply

